Change of Subject

Last January, I started a blog about craft beer made right here in Boone County. I love craft beer and love my hometown Columbia, so it was a no-brainer to write about that for the social media classes I was taking. Doing a beer blog is fun. You get to go to beer festivals, visit beer pubs, try all the latest beer releases, talk beer with other craft beer lovers, etc. It’s living the life. My wannabe life. But not my life.

My life centers around my family. My husband, two grown kids, a parade of foster kids and more animals than are strictly necessary. My husband and a smattering of kids have issues with short-term memory. In my husband’s case, it’s due to traumatic brain injury (TBI). With the teenagers, it could be physiological or it could be age-related dementia. Doesn’t really matter. Life becomes an adventure when you’re the only one who remembers what you said two minutes ago. When I’m sleep-deprived, even my brain checks out for a while and then reality becomes entirely subjective and a subject of contention. Sort of like Donald Trump’s world.

Living with TBI is expensive and eats up the money which could otherwise be spent on beer. So I’m changing the focus of the blog to cover the frustrations, weirdnesses and irrational pleasures of living with possibly brain-damaged people. However, I’m not going to just leave the beer lovers in the dust (yes, the two followers I’m not related to, I’m talking to you). I’m still going to post cool beer info and write about beers I’m enjoying, just not all the time. To start off, here’s a list in no particular order of my favorite beer sites I’ve discovered in the few months I focused exclusively on craft beer:

 

 

 

Leave a comment